FirstClose review
FirstClose is a Income & Asset Verification product from Lateral Investment Management (equity investor). MortgageTechReview scores FirstClose 3.7 out of 5.0, ranking FirstClose #13 of the 35 products tracked in Income & Asset Verification Software, as of August 11, 2026. Scores on MortgageTechReview are weighted across five axes and are never paid for or influenced by a vendor relationship.
FirstClose is built around one number: days from home equity application to close. XpressEquity runs a soft pull and a real-time equity model up front, so pre-approval happens before any vendor order. Order management then sequences the settlement work from vetted providers, with disclosures firing automatically on auto-approved files. The buyer is a bank or credit union bottlenecked on settlement coordination, not underwriting. Volume decides it, because the platform economics need a steady flow of equity loans. It is not an LOS, so underwriting and closing documents still live somewhere else.
How FirstClose compares to Model Match
Ranked first in VOI/VOAModel Match currently scores highest in VOI/VOA, so every other product in the category is compared against it here. That is a ranking on our published rubric rather than a recommendation, and it changes when the scores change. Category Leader
| Axis | FirstClose | Model Match |
|---|---|---|
| Production impact | 3.8 | 4.9 |
| Functionality & depth | 3.8 | 4.8 |
| Integrations & ecosystem | 3.8 | 4.3 |
| Adoption & support | 3.6 | 4.9 |
| Return on spend | 3.6 | 4.9 |
| Overall | 3.7 | 4.8 |
FirstClose wins 0 of 5 axes against Model Match, on the weight profile published for this category. Full head-to-head →
Where it wins
- Names its LOS integrations: Encompass, MeridianLink, Optimal Blue and Stewart services
- Soft pull plus instant equity model means pre-approval before spending on vendor orders
- Provider marketplace removes one-by-one contracting with settlement service vendors
- Lateral Investment Management invested in 2022 and led another round in October 2025
Where it falls short
- Not an LOS, so it sits alongside one rather than replacing it
- The ten percent conversion lift claim is vendor-reported from early trials
- No pricing page and no disclosed model, per loan, per order or otherwise
- Short public integration list; anything beyond the four named platforms needs confirming
Why it scores 3.7
Scored on the Verification & Data weight profile. The number shows where it sits in this category. It rests on evidence anyone can check, including the vendor's own record. The weights →
Production impact
25% of scoreThe mechanism is specific and the target is measurable: days from equity application to close. Pre-approving on a soft pull and an instant equity estimate means vendor spend lands only on files likely to close. Automated ordering removes the sequencing delays that turn a two-week HELOC into a five-week one. FirstClose states a real-time debt consolidation feature lifted conversion more than ten percent in early trials. That is a vendor claim. The mechanism holds even where the number is unverified.
Functionality and depth
20% of scoreAs a data and verification layer, coverage is front-loaded on purpose. The soft credit pull and the instant equity model do the screening work early. The order management layer then sequences settlement data and services from vetted providers. That marketplace spares a lending operations team a procurement project. Underwriting and document generation stay elsewhere, and post-close does too. For a bank running home equity beside a general-purpose core, that division of labor is the reason to buy. An application front end and decision rules come along with the package.
Integrations and ecosystem
20% of scoreThe named integrations are the useful kind. Encompass by ICE Mortgage Technology, MeridianLink, Optimal Blue for pricing, and Stewart home equity services all connect. MeridianLink matters most, because that is where much credit union equity volume sits. There is no public integration directory, so anything beyond those four gets confirmed vendor to vendor.
Adoption and support
10% of scoreThe company has worked mortgage and home equity settlement services for roughly twenty-five years. The product is scoped around what a lending operations team already does. Deployment means configuring provider choices and decision rules, not running a replacement project. Change management on a small team stays moderate. Nothing independent is published on support response or implementation timelines.
Return on spend
25% of scoreValue tracks volume. A lender closing a few dozen equity loans a month struggles to beat manual ordering economics. One pushing several hundred recovers the fee through cycle time and pull-through. The settlement service costs passing through the platform are the bigger invoice line. How those get marked up is not disclosed.
On price. Not published. There is no pricing page; everything routes to a demo request. Per loan, per order, per seat or subscription: the model is not stated. Press hardest on how valuation and title costs pass through the marketplace. That is where the real annual spend sits.